Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

My gardenias are blooming! I was so excited to see all the buds form after the winter. We planted a hedge of August Beauty Gardenias two autumns ago. Last spring there were maybe five gardenias total that bloomed and I was so disappointed. I even saved our coffee grounds and used them as fertilizer in the hopes that it would help. It must have been the harsh winter or the fact that they were newly planted. This spring there are a million buds and the gardenias are flourishing. Gardenias are one of my favorite things about living in the South. I never imagined I would have a whole army of them blooming behind me when I sit on the patio. The scent is heaven on a breeze.

IMG_6461IMG_6460IMG_6491

I tried to think of a way to display them inside the house, so I cut a few blossoms and floated them in a large terrarium bowl on the dining room table. I always use odd numbers when arranging flowers, and five fit perfectly. They really perfume the whole first floor of our home. I hope they bloom all summer, or at least until any house guests we may have can be wowed by them too. But beggars can’t be choosers, and I am grateful they bloomed at all. Pure loveliness.

IMG_6439IMG_6458IMG_6441

Information about August Beauty Gardenias:

Plants

How to care for August Beauty Gardenias:

http://homeguides.sfgate.com/grow-august-beauty-91118.html

Nat King Cole singing “Blue Gardenia”

